Oreo in Review

Did you know that there are all kinds of Special Edition flavours of Oreos? And not just Double Stuff and Mint. There is a seemingly endless list of these limited engagement cookies.

Hold on there, friend. Before you pour yourself a tall glass of milk to go with these sandwiches of sweet tastiness, be warned:  there’s a catch. You can only get them in the US. Apparently, Nabisco wasn’t happy with how the War of 1812 ended and included some sort of no-sharing-Oreos clause in The Treaty of Ghent (I’m 95% certain that’s true).

But have no fear! I have American connections and have procured a small sampling of SPECIAL EDITION OREOS. And being the kind and generous mom that I am (okay, I couldn’t hide them before the boys saw the packages) our family has been enjoying them and rating them.

Now I present to you the Limited Selection of Special Edition Oreos, In Review. 

It's like a small disk of "dream come true"
It’s like a small disk of “dream come true”

Peanut Butter

I doubt you could pair chocolate with peanut butter and have it be anything other than delicious. Nabisco did not let us down. It was just the right blend of two of my favourite things. Bonus is that you cannot send them to school due to the nuts, so it means more for you to eat at home once the kids are in bed.

Rating: 4 out of 5 Cups of Coffee (that’s the Moyer Official Rating System).

Raspberry Fudge Cremes

"Oreos"

These almost didn’t make the cut since they are not the traditional “sandwich cookie” but since they say “Oreo” on the package, I loosened the entry requirements. They did sit on the shelf a little longer than usual as a bit of an Oreo-purist demonstration (I forgot they were there).

Wow. I got them out for the boys and almost immediately wished I hadn’t announced they were for everyone. So good. We snarfed down one row in record time and the second almost as quickly. In order to maintain my standing with the neighbour kids, I sent the remaining row along on a playdate. I have never regretted anything more. Curse you, generosity.

Rating: 4 1/2 Cups of Coffee

Cool Mint

Mint, with attitude. In Canada it's called "Mint, if that's okay with you"
Mint, with attitude. In Canada it’s called “Mint, if that’s okay with you”

Come on. The only thing that I might love more than chocolate and peanut butter is chocolate mint. These are the only specialty flavours that are occasionally available in Canada, but having the American version was still a special treat.

We didn’t get a chance to fully review these since my parents ate half the package before they delivered it. Something I can understand, but will not forget, Mom and Dad.

Rating: 4 out of 5 Cups of Coffee

Birthday Cake

HB, Jan. HB.
HB, Jan. HB.

I don’t know what kind of chemists or wizards Mr. Christie employs, but these really do taste like birthday cake. Bonus points are applied since I received these tasty goodies as part of a birthday gift.

The *kid appeal for this edition is high. So high, there was no way my little darlings were going to forget we had some in the closet, so I was forced thrilled to share.

Bravo, Nabisco, bra – vo.

Rating: 4 out of 5 Cups of Coffee

Cookie Dough

Worth exercising for
Worth exercising for

Oh, man did this flavour deliver. I first learned of this new edition on Twitter and knew we had to try it. Hands down, this is the favourite. There was just a hint of mocha which reminded me of the Dutch spritz cookies we used to eat with Sunday morning coffee growing up. Delicious. Once this package was opened, all other special selections were second-class cookies

Rating: 5 out of 5 Cups of Coffee

Honourable Mentions

Berry Burst Ice Cream: an acceptable alternative if Cookie Dough is sold out.

Triple Double: yummy, but tough to justify eating more than 2 or 7 of these since they are pretty big.

Unrated Flavours

I have not eaten these editions, but that won’t stop me from reviewing them.

Lemon: No.

Watermelon: Why? WHY?

Gingerbread: Please don’t.

Candy Corn: Offer these to guests who have overstayed their welcome. 

*Investment opportunity: I’d like to develop a camouflage sleeve with pictures of lentils on it to slip right over any package of Oreos you don’t want to share. Just email me your credit card info and we’ll get this started.

———

Which flavour would you like to see Mr. Christie try next?

 

Author: Jan Moyer

Embracing my inner child since 2005.

11 thoughts on “Oreo in Review”

  1. I absolutely love the lemon and wish Oreo would bring them back. You do realize these are lemon crime cookies, not lemon filling in the traditional chocolate Oreo sandwiches, right?

  2. I had never seen the Cookie Dough Oreos until I read your post. Last night, I was at Target, and there they were! I had to get some. While I did detect a hint of mocha like you said, I didn’t think they tasted too much different from regular Oreos. To me, that makes a perfect cookie! Thank you for making me try something new – loved them!

Leave a comment